Farewell, Rice Library

Well, it is hard to believe that this moment is already here. The end of the year has once again come. The end of the year, for me, means graduation and the start of my future career. It feels like just yesterday I was writing my first blog telling you all interesting facts about myself. Although nobody came to Rice Library to give me a bag of sourdough pretzels, as I discussed in my first blog, it has been a great semester.

The past four months I have done my best to keep you all updated on events going on at Rice Library, along with educating you about the many services that Rice Library offers. From Find the Eagle to our library wide scavenger hunt, it has been a blast! I enjoyed seeing the excitement that many students showed during those simple events. I believe it helped students take a break from the daily grind of studying and have a little fun in the library. I have spent countless hours wandering around Rice Library to take picture you our dedicated students (thank you to everyone who allowed me to do this and did not sue me for creeping on you) and finding vacant study rooms for you to use.Image

I have learned a lot from working here at Rice Library, as well. I have learned about the amount of work that goes into keeping this place going for our students. It has made me appreciate everything that the staff here does every single day. From the checkout staff to IT staff, there is so much that goes into Rice Library. I have been amazed by how dedicated every single person here is to giving the students of Rice Library the best possible library experience. They are always cooking up new ideas to help make our library an enjoyable place for our students. From the countless info walls to keeping iPad’s available for students to use, the staff here is always working hard to maximize the students’ experience.

All in all, I am proud to say that I have worked at Rice Library for the past two years, first at Checkout and now as the Social Media Assistant. It has been a great experience for me. Before working here I didn’t know the slightest thing about libraries. I know that whoever takes over my position will do continue to build upon what we have already created. Last but not least, thank you to every single one of you. Without our followers on Twitter, friends on Facebook, and blog viewers none of this would have been possible. So for the last time, this is Austin Viano signing off. Stay classy, USI.

 

Read on,

 

Austin Viano

 

One thought on “Farewell, Rice Library

  1. Jennifer Greene

    It was a pleasure working with you Austin, and all the best!
    -UASC

Leave a Reply

