National Library Week! Why do you love Rice Library?

 

This week is National Library Week! Every year this week comes around, and it makes us think about everything our library gives us. The theme for National Library Week this year is Lives Change at Your Library. Many people do not realize the amount of lives that can be impacted by libraries. Reading a book, studying a few hours, or getting help at the reference desk can impact your life in a positive way. We asked a few people in Rice Library what they love most about Rice Library and how it has affected their lives. This is what they had to say:

 

  1. James
  • Senior majoring in History who has worked at Rice Library for several years now

What do you love most about Rice Library?

I love the students here. Working here, I get the chance to meet a lot of students. They crack me up on a daily basis!

How has Rice Library affected your life?

Working here has made me realize everything that libraries have to offer. I am actually going to grad school for library sciences after graduation!

2. Alex Fig

  • Freshman majoring in history education

What do you love most about Rice Library?

There a tons of books available for research. I love how Rice Library stays open late. I basically live here.

How has Rice Library affected your life?

I get no sleep!

3. JoshJosh

  • Sophomore majoring in mechanical engineering

What do you love most about Rice Library?

Study rooms are open late so that is very helpful for group work. I also love the Starbucks in the building!

How has Rice Library affected your life?

Rice Library motivates me to study and be successful in school.

4. Morgan

  • Sophomore who works at the checkout counter at Rice Library

What do you love most about Rice Library?

I love the study rooms. They are a great place to go if you need a quiet study area.

How has Rice Library affected your life?

I work here so I spend a lot of time here. I love my coworkers!

5. Alex

  • Junior who works at Rice Library as an instruction student worker

What do you love most about Rice Library?

I love working here. I have worked here since freshman year so I have spent a lot of time here.

How has Rice Library affected your life?

I have learned a lot about how a library works. I am able to find resources on my own when I need them for classes.

6. Jennifer

  • Jennifer is the Reference and Archives Librarian and has been working at Rice Library for six years

What do you love most about Rice Library?

The people! We have great people working here that would do anything for you. I should say the books because I am a librarian. But the people here are great.

How has Rice Library affected your life?

Rice Library has affected my life in every way imaginable. I have my dream job, in a dream facility, with dreamy collections. Taking the job here changed my life for the better in every way.

 

As for me, Rice Library has been a big part of my life, the past couple years especially. I began working here last year at the checkout counter and now I am a social media intern. Other than giving me a place to work on campus, it has gave me the opportunity to meet some great people. I have established relationships that will be great to come back to when I visit after I am gone. As for what I love most about Rice Library, I love the resources that it provides. I love the availability of IPads, laptops, and study rooms to students. I believe these resources make a huge difference in our student’s studies every year.

 

Also, if you have something you love about Rice Library that you would like to share with us stop by the info wall and write it on the big poster! I hope everyone is having a great National Library Week!

 

Read on,

 

Austin Viano

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

